Library Board


COMPOSITION: The Library Board shall consist of seven (7) members appointed by the mayor, with the advice and consent of the city council. The mayor and the city councilmen shall be ex-officio members of the City Library Board, but shall have no vote.

DUTIES: The duties of the Library Board include: authorized and directed to appoint a librarian and to make such rules and regulations as it deems advisable and necessary for the operation and maintenance of the public library; prepare a report to the city council showing a statement of all moneys received, disbursements, and a statement briefly outlining the operation of the library and its condition; and recommend to the city council the probable amount of money necessary to operate the public library and such recommendation shall be made at such time as may be required by the budgetary officer.

TERMS: Terms shall be three (3) year terms. Two (2) shall serve for a one (1) year, three (3) shall serve for a term of two (2) years, and three (3) shall serve for a term of three (3) years. The mayor shall designate the chairman of the board who shall serve at the will of the mayor. At the first meeting of the board, a vice-chairman shall be elected by the board from its members who shall serve for a two-year term; thereafter, a vice-chairman shall be elected every two-years by the members of the board.

CREATION/AUTHORITY: Section 16-2, City Code of Ordinances; Ord. 2014-4075, 8/4/14;

MEETS: The board meets 3rd Thursday of every month at 9:00 am at Library Office.


Anita Kirkland 02-2019 06-2010

Helen Aylott 02-2017 03-2005

Marsha Wellman 02-2019 05-2003

Paula Stone, Chairman (Exp. 7-2016) 02-2019 05-2003

Patsy Crumrine 02-2017 02-1999

Ruth Maddox 02-2017 06-2005

Debra Kullman 02-2017 02-2001